Louisiana P.E.O. State Chapter

Official State Chapter of the P.E.O. Sisterhood - Louisiana


State Members



About P.E.O.

  • The P.E.O. Sisterhood was founded in 1869 by seven pioneering young women on the campus of Iowa Wesleyan College in Mount Pleasant, Iowa. Since then, the membership of the P.E.O. Sisterhood has grown to over a quarter of a million members, with chapters established in the United States and Canada. P.E.O. supports women in the realization of educational dreams through educational philanthropy and sponsorship, scholarship, loan and grant programs. The P.E.O. Sisterhood is a unique source of friendship, encouragement and support in the lives of its members.

Louisiana P.E.O. History

  • The P.E.O. Sisterhood officially arrived in Louisiana on May 15, 1922 with the organization of Chapter A, in Shreveport. Five years later dimits (transfers) from Chapter A organized Chapter B. By 1930 P.E.O. had spread to Baton Rouge where chapter C was formed. P.E.O. continued to grow throughout the state. In 1945 the organization of the Louisiana State Chapter began with a Convocation taking place in Shreveport on October 30-31, 1946. The First Annual Convention was held in Baton Rouge on April 17-18 1947 at the Heidelberg Hotel. Mary S. Eidson, Chapter K served as the first State President.

Meet our State Leadership


Organizer Amelia Grace Jordan
Secretary Alicia Nolan
Treasurer Bette Maroney



Vice President Arleen Mayeux
President Kristine Lyons


The P.E.O. Sisterhood maintains six educational projects in the form of grants, scholarships and loans as well as the stewardship of Cottey College. All grants, scholarships and loans, with the exception of the International Peace Scholarship (IPS), require applicants be sponsored by a local chapter of the P.E.O. Sisterhood. Our local chapters and members have shown dedication, hard work and financial contributions for our projects and recipients. By working together, we have made a difference in the lives of thousands of women internationally.